We’re All Grown Up

 

As I drive to meet with my cousin approximately three hours from where I live; I slowly realize that we are not children anymore. I will be watching her embark upon a great coming of age moment where she will try on wedding dresses for the first time.

It was only a little over a year ago that I married my best friend and in 9 months she will be married to hers. I find it hard to believe that this woman, who used to walk around in her daddy’s boots and a diaper, is going to be walking down the aisle in some short months from now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I glanced over at my daughter sleeping peacefully and I thanked God that I have a good traveling child. Then I wondered if when the time came how I would feel if it were my daughters wedding we were preparing for.. quickly shaking that thought from my mind (because i have at least 18 years before I have to worry about that!) Pondering farther I tried to figure out how we got here, to this place in time where my brother and I are parents and married. How did my cousins grow up so fast? Ones about to be a father and the other is getting married.  It astounds me that time has flown by in the blink of an eye.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A single shutter click and bam with the blinding light in your eye you’re not a little child anymore.  You’re stumbling around in this crazy, sometimes fucked up, world trying to figure out what the hell is the right thing to do. I look back to freshman year of high school and see this puffy haired goofy grinned little kid who thought she knew everything. Some how along the way I graduated high school, started college, fell in love, got lost a little bit with who I wanted to be, and now I’m here. A mother whose married and sometimes a little bit confused on whether or not she’s doing the right things or headed in the right direction.  I wondered if my mother ever tried to figure out when she became an adult or how she ended up with two full grown children of her own.

Here’s some things that I do know.  I have an amazing husband that I met through a really close friend.  I have a beautiful 9 month old daughter who drives me insane with love every second of every day.  I have two nephews and one niece whom I’ve watched grow in to little people it seems almost over night.  My mother is still one of my best friends and I thank God every day for her.  I have a best friend that Ive known since freshman year she has beautiful twin girls.  She is my wifey, fo lifey (lol).  I also have another really close friend who introduced me to my husband who has been like the bigger sister I never had.  These people are my family, the people I mentioned before are also my family and together we can achieve anything.  Because some how I turned around and my life that I had been waiting to start had already started when I wasn’t paying attention.

Now we’re all grown up.

Leave a Reply

