Crockpot Lava Cake

Well this is my first time ever doing a DIY Blog BUT I have faith! Haha .. err. yup.

Today, I got a wild hair up my butt/ Chocolate Craving to make a Chili’s Copy-Cat Molten Lava Cake at home.  So what does every good mother do to find a great DIY recipe? ? Consult Pinterest of course! Linked below is the recipe I followed to attempt this lava specialty cake.

Lava Crockpot Cake Recipe

Now I’m silly and forgot to take photos during the process because lets face it I did not know I was even going to do this.. it just happened.. kinda like babies .. or dirty laundry. One day you turn around and your pregnant or you realize you need to wash your clothes because you wore your entire closet and your floor has turned into one large pile of dirty laundry and you no longer have a “clean pile.” Trust me it happens at least once in your young adult life.

Side Note:Mine lasted like about 6 months haha pre pregnancy of course due to not having on site laundry facility and living at my place of work literally only ever had time to wash my work clothes yeah you can save the EWWWS for someone who cares.

Anyways back to the point of this post!

I followed the directions of not mixing the pudding with the cake mix and added what little  chocolate chips I had on top and then added some candy melts that were left over from christmas candy making. Then I left the crockpot on “low” for approximately 2.5 hours. When the buzzer went off I checked the  concoction and it seemed a little.. jiggly? Haha I don’t know what to call it but it just did not look right to me so i decided to give it some more time.

When re-reading the directions I found that they were using a different shaped/depth of crockpot this is why I chose to add time as well as the way it looked.

At this point I decided to take some photos so you could see what I was talking about haha

See? Its kinda weird looking..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well I left it on for about another 45 minutes to and hour and the top had hardened a bit more it wasn’t as jiggly and when you spooned into it you could clearly see a more sponge like consistency.

After making the scrumdidlyumptious cake of lavas (and eating dinner) I spooned a nice helping into a bowl then topped it in true Texas style with Homemade Vanilla Bluebell Ice Cream. Yes, the Ice Cream that had an outbreak of Listeria that which killed 3 people in Kansas in 2015 article liked below.  The Ice Cream Prohibition struck Texas right in the middle of my pregnancy.  Thats when all the Pregnant Ice Cream Sad Memes started to surface on Facebook that we all thought was hilarious (at least you did if you are/were/had ever been pregnant because it can make a shitty day an amazing one.)

Crazy Bluebell Prohibition Due to Listeria OutBreak

The Photo Below was every pregnant woman nightmare for about 4-5 months maybe longer depending on where in the country you lived.  This forced many of us to try different brands of ice cream for the very first time.. I came to realize that the only brand I liked other than Blue Bell was Oak Farms which is a MILK BRAND.. haha. FML.

bluebell recal photo

 

After I put amazing Ice Cream on the Copy-Cat cake I topped it off with Magic Shell Chocolate Fudge by Smuckers.  Which can be purchased pretty much anywhere. My Hubby and I enjoyed amazing Molten Chocolate Lava Cake (and still have left overs) for dessert and it was the best I’ve ever had.  I like the DIY version more because its more gooey from the pudding that you use. Not like gooey cake but maybe a more appropriate word would be more fudgey (if thats even a word).  I strongly recommend the recipe if anyone is looking for something that is SUPER easy for a date night or little dinner party. Any who so I’ll share the photos of the finished product.

 

Ok, ok so my presentation sucks BUT it was my first time doing a DIY Food Blog.  I hope I didn’t waste anyones time, but I had so much fun creating this Lava Cake. Please comment if you’ve ever made your own or if you try this recipe.  Let me know if you liked it or if you changed any of the steps because if theres a way to make this better.. Im so down to try it.

Thanks again for reading and have a great week ya’ll!

 

Leave a Reply

