Teething and Diapers

I write this while sitting on the toilet. Well, let me rephrase that, sitting on the toilet watching my daughter take the thirteenth bath this weekend due to the explosive diarrhea epidemic of the summer in 2016, other wise known as teething.

This weekend has particularly been challenging for me, and maybe I’m just being a big ol’ baby, but DEAR LORD! This child. She has been in the best of moods, the worst of moods and gone through so many pieces of clothing in only 4 days that I feel like I’m losing my shit. It makes me want to pull my hair out that theres nothing that I can do to make the upset stomach problems go away.  She’s very temperamental and I mean who wouldn’t be if your bottom was 7 shades of spotted red? Even if i change her the second it happens its still a mess and she’s constantly in pain! Whats a budget mom to do? Well I’ll tell you.

I dig through my drawers find my lavender essential oils and put it in every bath she takes!   Not to mention that I add a cup of powdered oatmeal to the bath to help soothe the tushy.

Although this weekend has been rough, and I’m sure the rest of this week will be as well, I look down at this little kid learning words at the speed of light, screaming like a pterodactyl because she loves to hear how high she can go, walking around and running into things or stomping her feet to hear the sound, I realize that I have no idea how my life would be right now if she were not in it.  I don’t even understand how I survived this world without her.  She lights up the room even if she’s throwing a tantrum.  She gives me the best damn hugs in the galaxy, no seriously ask her NawNaw she’ll agree.  Even when I’m having a melt down because she’s gone through all of her extra clothes and theres poopy diapers in the bed of the truck and some how it got on her face and arm.  She finds a way to make me calm down.  I really don’t know how I got to be so lucky in life, my husband and I are truly blessed.

I feel like lately I’ve been slacking as a mom, with being frustrated and stressed, school is now 4 days a week all day and then fitting doctors appointments (not just mine but Freyahs) in on Fridays I barely have time for cleaning or doing laundry.  For those with multiples I have no idea how you do it! I keep trying my best and I know in the long run its worth it for my family to be able to help provide.

Here’s what I’ve learned in the last month.  No matter how little time I get with my child as long as I make the time we have together count and lots of fun my daughters love is unwavering.  I have come to accept the fact that my clothes are clean, but they will not always be put away in their places or hung up on a hanger in the proper place and thats okay! Being the perfect mom means getting things done as well as possible and not sweating the small stuff. The last thing I’ve learned is how to use my planning/ OCD skills to my best ability in planning out or sorting through all of our many appointments whether its doctors, dentists, WIC (yeah were on it don’t judge), grocery shopping,  or paying bills. It really has come in handy.

Just take it one diaper at a time, that’s all you can ever do.

P.S. that little chart that tells you when your kids teeth are supposed to come in is a liar. LOL

Leave a Reply

